Thursday, March 31, 2005

The four noble truths of Buddhism

There are many factions within Buddhism just as there are within Christianity, but the thing that defines Buddhism is the four noble truths:

1. Life is suffering.
2. The cause of suffering is desire.
3. To get rid of suffering, one must get rid of desire.
4. To get rid of desire, one must follow the eight fold path.

I won't go into the eight fold path right now, but I just wanted to point out a problem in the four noble truths. The problem is that the only reason anybody would pay any attentionn to it is if they had a desire to get rid of suffering. But desire is the cause of suffering. Do you see the problem here? One can't even begin to get rid of suffering until one embraces the very cause of suffering. One must have a desire to get rid of desire, so one must embrace what he's trying to avoid. As soon as one has a desire to get rid of suffering, he increases his suffering.


At 4/15/2005 1:09 AM , Blogger Mike - said...

What a great observation! (I should have caught that.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home